Sampling Collecting Collectables Part 2: The beginning

 

  1. COLLECTERS SHOP.DAY 

Camera pans around Milton Myrtle’s collector’s shop. 

Milton (VO) 

During my 25 years on this planet, I have been called many things, Geek, Nerd on one occasion Poindexer and many other very rude names…but now I am know as one of the biggest players in the collector’s world. 

Milton is standing at a cabinet, Milton is arranging vintage superhero figures. The shop bell rings. 

Milton  

Hello? 

Milton looks up. 

 

Milton  

(Excited)

Ow hey Doreen! 

Milton walks up to the counter. 

Doreen 

Hey Milton!… have the Dragon Force collectables arrived? 

Milton 

You know me I can get anything just for you! 

Milton smiles at Doreen. Milton pops below the counter, ruffling noises are made, Milton pops back up. 

Milton  

Here you go Miss Donnelly!  

 

Milton hands statue figure wrapped in bubble wrap to Doreen

Doreen 

Thank you sooo much Milton you’re the best! I will be back soon, goodbye 

Doreen leaves the shop, Milton stares at Doreen leaving. 

Milton (VO) 

If only I could get the confidence to ask her to a dungeons and dragons night! … even I did I could not take the rejection… it will be like firefly all over again! 

Wilbur (OS)

Milton?  

Milton continues to stare blankly at the door. 

Wilbur (OS)

Milton? 

Milton turns to look at Wilbur, Milton jumps in surprise. 

Milton 

You scared me Wilbur 

Wilbur 

Sorry 

Milton  

How long you been here? 

Wilbur 

Since twelve  

Milton looks at his watch. 

Milton 

You been here for three hours? 

Wilbur 

You know I like your comics 

Milton  

Yeah… without you I will be out of business. 

Wilbur 

That would be a huge loss, where would I get my comics? 

Milton 

Online? Other shops? 

Wilbur  

That wouldn’t satisfy me 

Milton 

(Confused) 

Ok? 

Wilbur 

I will take these please. 

Wilbur places comics on the counter. Milton scans the comics. 

Wilbur  

You seen what’s happening on twitter? 

Milton 

No I haven’t had a chance to check my twitter today, what is happening? 

Wilbur  

Dragon Force have announced that they lost the ‘Thy Dragon’ 

Milton drops the comics in shock. 

Wilbur 

Arggh you dropped first editions! 

Milton 

(Curious)

‘Thy Dragon’? are you sure? 

Wilbur 

(Panic)

Pick them up! Pick them up! 

Milton 

‘Thy Dragon’! 

Wilbur 

Pick up the darn comics! 

Milton picks up the comics, Milton places them on the counter. 

Milton 

Sorry! … can you tell me now?

Wilbur 

Sorry for cursing…‘Thy Dragon’ is lost. 

Milton 

 That’s not possible 

Wilbur 

According to Twitter a mysterious collector has it and he is willing to trade it. 

Milton 

(Overly Dramatic)  

He holds the key to war! 

Wilbur

(Confused) 

What? 

Milton 

Think about it?… everyone loves Dragon Force! 

Wilbur 

What’s ‘Thy Dragon’ got to do anything? 

Milton 

I thought it was legend… a myth made by producers to get fans excited and scared… they only ever made one dragon out of all the series… one to rule them all. 

Wilbur 

I am guessing that is bad? 

Milton 

(Overly Dramatic) 

Ow it’s bad! This mysterious collector is going to cause havoc and misery among our people! 

Wilbur 

How come? 

Milton  

(Overly Dramatic) 

All the gangs are going to want ‘Thy Dragon’… by any means. 

Wilbur 

That is horrible there will be bloodshed  

Milton 

(Overly Dramatic) 

Some bruises and scrams will be dealt yes, we have to stop this! 

Wilbur  

Can we wait till tomorrow… my mother is cooking me food and she won’t leave me eat it in the basement any more 

Milton  

Ok… that’s fair enough. 

  1. INT. MILTON’S FLAT.NIGHT 

Milton is at a table packing a bag. On the table is a board with dice along with cards and supplies. Milton picks up his mobile, Milton dials a number. 

Milton  

(Overly Dramatic) 

Mother… I won’t be calling for a while…because I am going on a unexpected journey… it should take about three hours, not six or even twelve … and if it is extended it may be over fifth teen… yes it may be dangerous… what am I doing? Something really important!… I am going to find ‘Thy Dragon’ and stop chaos… arggh it’s something silly mother… it’s serious…before I go…………… I love you mother. 

  1. MILTON’S SHOP.MOURNING 

Milton and Wilbur stand at the counter. 

Milton 

Are you ready? 

Wilbur 

Yes? I think so 

Milton  

Ok good this may be very dangerous 

Wilbur 

I know… my mother told to me bring a sweater… did yours? 

Milton 

Yeah… She did. 

 

Comment...Or Not (Smiley Face)

