Night At The Museum !

Yesterday I was working at Cardiff museum (I have never been there before yesterday and I have to say it is a lovely place) at an event hosted by the company Airbus (I think) and the first half of the day was speakers coming in to talk to children and try and get them interested in science, one talker was named doctor Lewney (yea that was his real name…bit of a weird one) who played electric guitar to use that as an example to show off science! or to show off?! another speaker was something to do with rivers and the other gave his life story and the last one was a science rapper (yes a rapper) and he did a set of him rapping about the sun and other science subjects.

During the talks my job was to mic all the speakers up ready to go on to the stage (the museum has a real nice theatre section) I was kind of nervous before every speaker went on to talk because I was worried that the equipment wouldn’t work (even though I checked it like four times) but to my relief they all worked, I also had other jobs helping with the cameras and running things about, after what was I thought not a bad set of speakers, the senior crew of orchard abandoned us to go and film Gareth Bale for the Cardiff euro 2020 bid and to be honest I would of dumped and run to for the chance for that! (I am really gutted I didn’t get to go)

So this left me one camera man (Neil) and production assistant (Prys) all on our lonesome for the repeat performance of the speakers. I have to say we nailed it this was a different kind of deal the second time around, we needed to get reactions of the kids and some different variation of shots of the speakers, was all over the place helping with equipment and giving out shot ideas just being helpful, once the mourning we could just sit and eat while we waited for the main event.

during the down time we found out Doctor Who was filming in the museum too, I was tempted to go and try and blend in with the crew and sneak about! (it’s safe to say I did not do that)

The night came and we gained our senior staff form the Gareth Bale shoot (which went really well…still gutted I didn’t go!) so this night event is a dinner for big wigs to mingle and drink free champagne, most of the just were politicians and business men all wearing tailored suits and fancy bowties (I felt slightly under dressed in my jeans and orchard polo shirt) my next job was to assist the camera man with a portal light (and trying to blind all the big wigs) I also keeping track of the guest that we haven’t filmed yet and trying to spot the guests having discussion about art. (Ow yeah and trying to find fancy looking shots!)

Once the guest finished bottles of free champagne they headed down to the theatre area (joined by students) where they had a guest speaker in Doctor Roberts, she has been on a lot of documentaries, one of her documentaries I watched in college while studying that genre (it was called the journey of us on the BBC) after what I thought was a great lecture/talk the Q and A started and my job was run about with the Mic so they could ask questions (my mic skills were amazing…so good I could be a rapper…ok maybe not)

The end of the talk was to signal the start of their fancy dinner this gave us a chance to go and get a bit to eat ourselves (which was a lovely pizza…that was paid on petty cash!) after the launch my next job was to help carry stuff and set up the awesome looking rig which I had play with and it was class!

Overall I had a great experience at this event really hands on with equipment so I am just looking forward to more

Comment...Or Not (Smiley Face)

